PASIG CITY (30 March 2023) — The Office of the Presidential Adviser on Peace, Reconciliation and Unity (OPAPRU) has officially opened the nominations for this year’s Gawad Kapayapaan (GaKap). 

The GaKap, which is held annually every September, is the OPAPRU’s way of recognizing the outstanding work of peace advocates, champions and exemplars whose work are not only known here in the country, but internationally as well.

“The OPAPRU is very pleased and excited to announce the opening of nominations for this year’s Gawad Kapayapaan Awards,” said Acting Presidential Adviser on Peace, Reconciliation and Unity Sec. Isidro L. Purisima. 

“This will be an opportunity for us to honor the outstanding work of our fellow peace builders and peace workers. They have played a key role in realizing all the gains of peace we have achieved over the years,” Purisima added. 

The GaKap is envisioned to be the country’s premier awards to honor the major contributions not only of individuals, but also institutions, and organizations in pushing forward the comprehensive Philippine peace process.

It also highlights the accomplishments, milestones, and innovative peacebuilding programs that have been carried out in building on and sustaining the gains of peace throughout the country.

The GaKap likewise seeks to set standards and present good peacebuilding practices that can be replicated to build, nurture, and expand a peace constituency that will promote a culture of peace and advance the national government’s peace agenda.

The GaKap will be open to nominees coming from the government and non-government organizations, as well as individuals and institutions who have established a track record in peacebuilding. 

There are two main categories for GaKap, the Individual and Group category. 

The awards under Individual Category are:

  • Gawad Kapayapaan Award for Youth
  • Gawad Kapayapaan Award for Women
  • Gawad Kapayapaan Award for Exemplary Peace Advocate

The Awards under thenGroup Category are:

  • Gawad Kapayapaan Award for National Government Agencies;
  • Gawad Kapayapaan Award for Local Government Units;
  • Gawad Kapayapaan Award for Civil Society Organizations
  • Gawad Kapayapaan Award for Academe; and
  • Gawad Kapayapaan Award for Private Institutions

In particular, the nominees must be local peace stakeholders or leaders. Posthumous awards will also be given to individuals who have made a significant contribution in the comprehensive peace process. ###